latin design

I have shown my precedent post to friends of Ars Industrialis. And Georges Collins has sent me the following text as an addition.

A very short addition to Alain Giffard’s take on the translation and meaning of the name of our site and association. When Alain says that the expression has never been translated into French or English or presumably any other language, he could have added that is cannot be translated with any information given in the Gaffiot Dictionary, which was at least up to now and to my knowledge the standard reference dictionary for the translation of Latin into French.

I have no competence in this domain, but I suspect the title is only possible in low latin, kitchen latin – In other words the translation problem comes very close to the historical problem with technology: it can only be lowly and ultimately vulgar; there is neither nobility nor sophistication in technology nor in Latin nor in industry.

Therein lies the genius of the name, for everything we are trying to do involves a transvaluation of these values, which everyone would agree with but which very few are willing to come to terms with in increments of energy, will-power and sustainability.

There is no problem with translating this title, this name, this programme as “for an industrial art”. But I personally feel that this gives short shrift to what we are trying to do, and to the sublime complexity of the stakes involved. I prefer to translate it like this: “thinking all polical questions from  an industrial vantage point, in an industrial manner.” Or, again, “for an industrial mannerism, for new industrial mannerisms.” Or, if I am not taxing your patience to an unwarranted degree this translation which suits me to a tee: “industrial articulation as the one we need and have not as yet been able to think and to capture.”

